Health Literacy from a to Z by
Health Literacy from A to Z: Practical Ways to Communicate Your Health Message is written for someone who cares a lot about communicating health messages clearly and simply. It is also written for someone to whom health literacy is just one of many projects competing for time and attention. In other words, this book is written for you. This book is intended as an easy-to-use guide for health communications. It is written in a way to inform and inspire you, not overwhelm you. There are 42 stand-alone chapters. Arranged alphabetically from A to Z, each chapter includes: -Starting Points. Introductory information providing context for strategies that follow. -Strategies, Ideas, and Suggestions. How-to ways of communicating clearly.-Stories from Practice. Real-life experiences that make key points "come alive."-Citations. References from books, podcasts, articles, and more. -Sources to Learn More. Resources to continue learning about each topic. Health Literacy from A to Z: Practical Ways To Communicate Your Health Message, Second Edition has won several awards of excellence. These include esteemed awards from the American Medical Writers Association and its New England chapter. This book also received a 5-star rating from Doody's Book Reviews and is included in its 2015 edition of core titles. Readers agree, as this book is consistently a best seller in several medical and health science categories on Amazon.Here is what some say about this book: "This timeless guide is essential for health communicators. Especially in this era of complex, consumer-drive health care, Health Literacy from A to Z is like having a trusted colleague offer thoughtful, clear, practical advice for making health information usable, understandable, and always respectful." Leigh Curtin-Wilding, MSc, Director of Boston University's Health Communication Graduate Program"I especially love the chapter on 'Know Your Audience: Emotions and Cognition.' I wish every intern and attending physician would have this as required reading. Steven Grossman MD, PhD. Chair of Virginia Commonwealth University's Division of Hematology, Oncology, and Palliative Care.
The Art and Science of Patient Education for Health Literacy by
Most healthcare providers know that health literacy is a major barrier to positive health outcomes, but regardless of good intentions they continue to simply present health information rather than promote deep patient learning. With Dr. Melissa N. Stewart's unique, research-driven approach, The Art and Science of Patient Education for Health Literacy helps you make the shift from simply presenting health information to activating deep patient learning. Revised and thoroughly updated from Dr. Stewart's Practical Patient Literacy: The MEDAGOGY Model, The Art and Science of Patient Education for Health Literacy equips both students and healthcare providers with the skills needed to engage patients' brains in order to help them understand their conditions and promote long-lasting behavior change. Based on the neuroscience of learning, this groundbreaking book is packed with abundant tools to teach students and practitioners how to negotiate effectively with patients about what they will and won't do to maintain and improve their health. Equipped with enhanced levels of health literacy, your patients will better understand their illnesses and become their own best healthcare advocates. UNIQUE! Focus on the author's proven patient literacy model applies a reliable methodology to promote patient health and reduce hospital readmissions. Practical, patient-centered approach emphasizes how to help patients formulate their own healthcare goals to promote their own health. In-depth discussion of pedagogy and andragogy introduces how these concepts can be used to teach different patients and accommodate their educational needs. Case Studies promote reader engagement and active learning. Guidance on how to understand the patient's emotional state and grieving process helps you understand when and how to best communicate health information. Handy tools such as the Patient Education Hierarchy, Informational Seasons, the PITS mode, and the UPP tool add direction to individual and/or team patient education efforts. UNIQUE! Research-driven approach based on the latest findings in the neuroscience of learning. NEW! Addresses the emergence of health literacy as a crucial issue for the future of high-quality healthcare. NEW! and UNIQUE! Incorporates the author's Self-Activation Tool to help patients activate their own learning. NEW! Colorful design and numerous illustrations promote reader engagement and active learning. NEW! Chapter-ending Key Points provide a focused self-check for each chapter. NEW! Broader focus on different health professions provides information for a wide range of caregivers.
New Approaches to Health Literacy by
In this anthology of health literacy, drawing on New Social Literacy studies and contemporary debates on equity, we discuss health literacy within German regional and cultural contexts as well as in selected non-European regions, such as in Asia and South America. Topics include unique reviews on health literacy, new empirical results on different population groups, in-depth ethnographic insights into social contexts, interventions intended to improve health literacy, and innovative theoretical dialogs. The discussions within this book provide new ideas and intriguing new results, also shedding light on the explanatory power of the health literacy concept as well as its boundaries.
Health Literacy in Nursing by
"Dr. Parnell has captured the essence of health literacy and cultural competence, not only for nurses, but also applicable to all care providers and community workers√ . and] provides us with a road map to enhance our success through health literacy and cultural competence. This is a must read for all health professionals." √>=Richard H. Carmona, MD, MPH, FACS (From the Foreword) 17th Surgeon General of the United States (2002√ 2006) Distinguished Professor, University of Arizona Promoting the health literacy of patients across all settings is an essential component of prevention, wellness, and effective medical treatment. This health literacy textbook provides an overview of health literacy, discusses the magnitude of the issue, and explains implications of low health literacy. It details strategies to enhance effective communication between patients and nursing practitioners. Through case-based examples, this textbook and clinical guide assists nurses in developing the requisite skills needed to communicate effectively so that patients can truly make informed health decisions and enhance health outcomes. Health Literacy in Nursing promotes verbal and written communication strategies that nurses can use to effectively meet the individualized needs of an increasingly diverse patient population in an effort to enhance patient√ provider communication across the entire continuum of care. It provides strategies for creating culturally appropriate written materials in plain language that patients can read and follow when they arrive home. Nursing professionals can build upon the basic tools offered in the text throughout their career to stay abreast of methods to effectively communicate and educate a culturally and linguistically diverse demographic. Additionally, the material can easily be incorporated into course content regarding "unique populations" (pediatrics, older adults, research participants, and those managing mental health and end-of-life care decisions) for whom health literacy is often overlooked. The book will be valuable to undergraduate and graduate nursing students studying to meet advanced nurse practice competencies and is an essential resource for practicing nurses who must stay abreast of evolving standards and regulations related to the provision of safe and effective patient and family-centered care. Key Features: Provides a solid foundation for developing skills that foster health literacy among all patients and practitioners Assists in meeting the regulatory requirements for providing culturally and linguistically appropriate patient education Includes guidelines for improving health literacy according to increasingly evolving regulatory standards Includes case-based examples to illustrate the purpose and effectiveness of enhancing patient and provider health literacy skills Addresses both oral and written communication strategies