This website provides an interactive, searchable, national map of health literacy estimates for 216,864 census block groups in the United States. This map was created by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The data were created through a predictive model that uses data from the 2010 U.S. Census and 2011 5-year American Community Surveys (ACS) summary files.
Citation: National Health Literacy Mapping to Inform Health Care Policy (2014). Health Literacy Data Map. University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Retrieved September 8, 2021, from http://healthliteracymap.unc.edu/
Dorland's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms and Abbreviations by
Medical acronyms and abbreviations offer convenience, but those countless shortcuts can often be confusing. Now a part of the popular Dorland's suite of products, this reference features thousands of terms from across various medical specialties. Its alphabetical arrangement makes for quick reference, and expanded coverage of symbols ensures they are easier to find. Effective communication plays an important role in all medical settings, so turn to this trusted volume for nearly any medical abbreviation you might encounter. Symbols section makes it easier to locate unusual or seldom-used symbols. Convenient alphabetical format allows you to find the entry you need more intuitively. More than 90,000 entries and definitions. Many new and updated entries including terminology in expanding specialties, such as Nursing; Physical, Occupational, and Speech Therapies; Transcription and Coding; Computer and Technical Fields. New section on abbreviations to avoid, including Joint Commission abbreviations that are not to be used. Incorporates updates suggested by the Institute for Safe Medication Practices (ISMP).
Stedman's Medical Dictionary by
The 27th edition of Stedman's Medical Dictionary reflects the thorough revision and critical review by 44 medical consultants as well as by a team of skilled editors and expert lexicographers. Readers will note extensive updating in all specialties, but especially in the terminology of genetics, oncology, pediatrics, pulmonology, emergency medicine, bacteriology, and laboratory medicine. Additionally, in accordance with the nomenclature approved by the International Federation of Associations of Anatomists, gross anatomy and neuroanatomy terminology now reflects the Terminologia Anatomica (TA), while still retaining the Nomina Anatomica Latin terms for histology and embryology. Anatomical definitions are found where readers are most likely to look -- at the English translations of the Latin terms. The 27th also includes veterinary medicine terms, now focused solely on terminology relevant to human medicine. Stedman's 27th contains more than 1,050 images, many of them in color and new to the Stedman's Dictionary, which expand and clarify the meanings of terms. Every image was reviewed by specialty consultants for clarity, scientific accuracy, and currency. Numerous tables present complicated information in schematic format to facilitate learning. There are also 64 pages of full-color anatomy and diagnostic medicine images, as well as a 32-page quick-reference anatomical atlas showcasing art from "adam.com(TM)." A complete index containing the names of each structure accompanies these richly labeled illustrations.Brand new to the 27th edition, the "Genus Finder" speeds the search for definitions of genus species names by spelling out the genus abbreviations under the species names. Along with the new features in the 27th, readers will continue to benefit from features found in the previous edition, including, "High Profile Terms," 131 concepts that so profoundly affect the practice of medicine that they warrant more than the standard dictionary definition: "Word Finder," a long list of multiple-term entries in the front of the book to speed readers to the definition they seek Cross-References, printed in blue, to point readers quickly to the preferred term where the definition appears "Combining Forms," highlighted to help readers build their medical vocabulary "Precision Thumb Tabs," which appear at the edge of every page, constantly orienting the reader in the book and speeding the search. Readers will find Stedman's 27th more accessible, informative, and comprehensive, the perfect guide for those who wish to speak and write about health care more precisely.